Rice drink is one of many plant-based alternatives to cow’s milk. In liquid form, you can now get it in almost every common grocery store.

However, rice drink powder is also increasingly being used. Mixed with water, you can also make the popular drink. Beyond that, however, there are many other beneficial applications. What these are and how you can benefit from them, we reveal to you in the following.

Rice drink liquid or powder: What are the differences?

As the name suggests: Both products are made from rice. In addition, they share the commonality of serving as an alternative to dairy products. However, some differences can be found in the production and application:

Rice drink is created through fermentation processes and the addition of emulsifiers (additives for binding). During production, water, salt and vegetable oil are added to the grain. In this way, a liquid is created that is slightly thinner than cow’s milk. Rice drink is often used in coffee or baking. But it is also a good alternative for muesli and corn flakes.

By the way: You probably also know the drink made from rice under the name “rice milk“. However, this is not quite correct: In Germany it is even legally stipulated that only animal products (exception: coconut milk) may be declared as milk.

In contrast, rice drink powder is produced by hydrolysis and spray-drying processes. The end result is a powdery consistency. This is easily soluble and therefore easy to process. Basically, there are wide application possibilities – one of them is mixing with water. In this way, you also get rice drink, but you can adjust the composition to your individual needs.

Basically, you achieve a neutral to mildly sweet taste with the rice product.

How to use rice drink powder

The fact that you can vary the composition and thus also the sweetness yourself is an absolute advantage when mixing powder and water. In this way, you can use the drink produced just as you would with milk: In coffee, cereal or baking.

But you can also add the powder to your dishes undiluted. For example, rice drink powder is considered a popular vegan alternative in coffee whitener. In addition, you can give a mild sweetness to corresponding dishes.

That is why the powder is so interesting for food manufacturers: In vegan versions of ice cream, desserts and chocolate, it is increasingly used as a milk powder substitute.

Rice drink powder on a wooden spoon.

This is what rice drink powder looks like.

These are the advantages of rice drink powder

Some of the advantages you may have already seen in the previous text. At this point, we give you once again an overview of the most important points:

As already mentioned, one of the advantages is that you can vary the intensity of the taste yourself. This applies on the one hand to the mixing to the rice drink, on the other hand powder can be dosed basically very well.

Furthermore, with rice drink powder you have access to a vegan milk substitute. The use is also very good for people with lactose intolerance – the powder is free of lactose.

In addition, rice drink powder is well tolerated and easily digestible. Although you consume less protein than with classic cow’s milk, but more carbohydrates. This makes the product a quick energy supplier.

If (plant-based) protein intake is important to you, you can also use oat protein or pea protein.

In addition to the taste and health benefits, environmental awareness should also be considered. If you decide to buy the powder, for example, you will save packaging waste compared to the liquid variants. Because: 5 liters of liquid rice drink you get in five separate packages. You can mix the same amount of drink from one ration (500 g) of powder, but only resort to a single container. Moreover, this container is often recyclable.

What to look for when buying rice products

Time and again, products made from rice have to contend with a bad reputation. The culprit is arsenic, which can find its way into plant-based foods via environmental influences. In fact, in some rice-growing areas, the groundwater used is contaminated with the semi-metal. This becomes a problem when large quantities are consumed, especially by children. They absorb it much more quickly in relation to their body weight.

Is there anything wrong with using it for the time being? Not if you know what to look for when buying rice and products like rice drink powder:

At naVitalo, for example, we use only microbiologically controlled rice. This is grown without genetic engineering and is therefore of the best organic quality. You can therefore enjoy the consumption of our rice drink powder, rice syrup or other rice products with peace of mind.

As with all foods, when consuming rice drink powder, it is important to use high-quality products and enjoy them in moderation. Then you will benefit from an adequate plant-based milk substitute that also tastes great.

Are you a large-scale manufacturer and have questions about rice drink powder and its quality? Then contact us. We are specialists in plant-based food ingredients and always make sure to use only high-quality and controlled ingredients.

Proteins are a relevant part of the daily diet, after all, they are among the three most important main nutrients for the human body. As a source of protein, foods of animal origin probably come to mind first. However, there are many plant-based alternatives to meat and cottage cheese that have a high protein content.

In this blog post, we will focus on oat proteins. They have many advantages – and they are not only interesting for vegans.

Why are proteins important?

Basically, proteins are composed of differently linked amino acids (also protein building blocks). Among other things, these contribute to the building and maintenance of muscles, cartilage and connective tissue, but also play a role in the defense against pathogens and the transport of oxygen and fat. In short, they are essential for the survival of the human body.

They are divided into non-essential and essential protein building blocks. The latter are those that cannot be produced independently by the human body. They must be ingested through food – for example, animal products such as fish, meat and dairy products. But they can also be obtained from plant-based foods such as broccoli, various seeds and nuts, or in the form of oat protein.

Which brings us to the differences between the two types of protein sources.

Plant vs. animal proteins

The reason many people – especially athletes – prefer animal proteins is because of the higher amount of essential amino acids they contain. However, several studies in the past have shown that intake from animal sources increases the risk of developing diabetes high blood pressure. Proteins of plant origin, on the other hand, actually lower this and are not harmful. In addition, they provide more fiber and are easier to digest.

The biological value also plays a role. It determines how quickly the proteins can be metabolized (i.e. converted into the body’s own protein). 100 corresponds to one egg and stands for very good utilization. Animal proteins usually perform somewhat better here.

But: Different protein sources can be combined with each other to improve the biological value. This also works with different plant foods. In addition, you should anyway pay attention to a balanced and varied diet in which the different amino acids complement each other.

Oat Field

Field full of Oat

Properties of oat protein

As the name suggests, this is protein that is extracted from oats. This is considered a very high-quality and healthy grain in any form. It contains a large amount of essential amino acids. These include in particular:

  • Leuxin
  • Isoleucine
  • Valine

These are so-called BCAAs, an amino acid complex that contributes to muscle growth and repair, among other things. It is also involved in wound healing and metabolism.
Oat protein also contains SAA (apolipoproteins). These are believed to have a positive effect on inflammatory processes.

In addition, protein from oats contains tryptophan. This amino acid influences mood and performance and has a calming effect – no wonder, since it is a precursor of the neurotransmitter serotonin.

The biological value is 60.

Oat protein – advantages in use

The vegetable protein has other advantages besides the above-mentioned properties. Oatmeal is experiencing a boom right now, and you can find many recipes for “overnight oats” and breakfast bowls on the Internet that include it. Accordingly, you can get very creative with your intake. However, you can also get it in the form of oat protein powder, which is even more straightforward to use.

On the one hand, oat protein is of course a vegan alternative to animal protein.

But also in case of different intolerances and allergies, you will benefit from its use. Oat protein is lactose-free and almost gluten-free. In addition, it is also well tolerated by allergy sufferers. When looking for an alternative to animal protein powders, you always stumble across common allergens such as soy and legumes. You can bypass the use of these with oats.

Plus, you’re resorting to a healthy and all-natural way to ingest essential proteins.

Oatmeal on a wooden table

Oatmeal on a wooden table

Oat protein powder: areas of application

In powder form, oat protein can be used in very different ways. On the one hand, you can use it to make a classic protein shake – for example, with water or a plant drink of your choice.

The powder is also increasingly used in the production of meat substitutes. Here it forms an alternative to the frequently used soy or pea proteins.

But even beyond that, there are almost no creative limits. Use the oat protein powder for example:

  • in various baked goods and cereals
  • for the production of protein bars
  • as a supplement in ice cream and other desserts
  • in soups and sauces
  • as an alternative to milk
  • in shakes and smoothies
  • as a texturant in meat substitutes

Before buying: consider quality guarantees

If you decide to use oat protein, you should obtain some information before buying. First and foremost, the oats should come from a non-GMO farm. Also, if you have a gluten intolerance, pay explicit attention to this claim. There may usually be a small amount present. However, you can also get oat protein that is completely gluten-free.

Last but not least, the taste is of course also crucial. Those who do not regularly consume oat products such as oat drink or similar, often find it a bit hard to get used to. Basically, however, high-quality oat protein has an excellent taste.

More ways to switch to plant-based proteins

Oat protein is not your cup of tea and you are looking for another plant-based option? Rice, pea and hemp proteins also bring many benefits.

If you are a food manufacturer and looking for a vegan alternative to animal protein, naVitalo is the place to be. We are specialists in plant-based food ingredients made from tapioca, rice, oats and other cereals. Our focus is on the use of environmentally friendly, sustainable and high-quality resources in BIO quality.

Sounds interesting? Then contact us and we will look together for the products that fit your company. Beyond protein powders, we also offer different vegetable sweetener alternatives and drink powders.

Tapioca is a plant starch obtained from the cassava root. It has a neutral taste and is therefore suitable for both sweet and hearty dishes.

It is precisely because tapioca can be used in so many different ways that it is becoming increasingly popular – and not just in the food industry! Find out how the starch can be made, what varieties it comes in, and how you can use it in this blog post.

About the cassava root and how tapioca is made

Cassava is found in tropical areas. Since it is mainly the root tubers that are consumed, the plant is also known as the “tropical potato”. Especially in South America, Africa and some Asian countries, they are often on the menu. For some time now, tapioca obtained from the root has also been popular outside these latitudes.

The important thing in its production is the proper procedure. This is because cassava contains hydrocyanic acid and is therefore poisonous in its raw state. To remove the acid, the root must therefore first be peeled, crushed and watered several times. The resulting mass is then heated so that even the last residues evaporate.

The elaborate process (which has only been touched upon here) finally produces tapioca flour or tapioca pearls, as desired. These can be further processed as required.

Cassava Roots on a field

Cassava Roots on a field.

Appearances and application

First of all, you have probably come into contact with tapioca more often than you might think. In fact, the starch is found in many areas of application. We would like to briefly introduce some of them to you:

Tapioca starch/Tapioca flour

Both terms describe the same thing in this case: Tapioca in white, powdery consistency. Just like potato or corn starch, you can use this to thicken sauces or soups, for example. But tapioca can also be used as an alternative to flour in baking – especially if you have a gluten intolerance.

In addition, tapioca starch is often found in sweets such as candies and chewing gum.

Tapioca syrup

Especially if you like it less sweet, the mild taste of tapioca syrup might be right for you. With it, you’re also resorting to a vegan alternative to honey. But it is also recommended for people with fructose intolerance.

Insider tip: Tapioca syrup makes beaten egg whites even creamier.

Syrup powder

Syrup powder has a similar consistency to tapioca flour, but is not neutral in taste. With its slight sweetness, it is therefore ideal for making vegan ice cream or chocolate.

However, it is also commonly used as a binder, for elasticity and plasticity. You can often find tapioca syrup powder in frozen products.

Beyond food production, it is also used as a binder for medicines.

Malto- or oligodextrin

Tapioca maltodextrin is most commonly used as a foam stabilizer and carrier for flavors. It is also frequently found in the food industry as a preservative. The carbohydrate mixture is neutral in taste and easy to digest.

Tapioca oligodextrin is considered a source of low-glycemic carbohydrates. It improves texture in various food applications.

Other applications

If you’ve ever had tapioca pudding, you’ve come across pearl tapioca in this case. It’s a slightly coarser version of starch. In addition, this is also important in feed production. Here it is used to stick together so that solid pellets do not fall apart.

Tapioca in a Bowl and Cassava Roots

Tapioca in a Bowl and Cassava Roots.

Is tapioca healthy?

Do you still remember bubble tea? The trendy drink from Asia was the talk of the town in Germany for some time – first because it was so popular. Then because the pearls in it were supposed to be carcinogenic. However, several studies have disproved the rumor. The edible beads made from tapioca have been classified as harmless, and bubble tea stores are now increasingly to be found in German cities.

Nevertheless, one of the most frequently asked questions is whether tapioca is considered healthy. As with any food, it’s the mass that makes it and only within a balanced diet can one speak of healthy food at all.

Basically, however, tapioca does quite well:

If you do not tolerate gluten or fructose well, products made from tapioca are an optimal alternative. What’s more, the plant is more than low in fat, with almost zero grams. In addition, with tapioca you take minerals such as magnesium, calcium, phosphorus and potassium. However, it is starch and that basically provides relatively high calories and carbohydrates.
You can be on the safe side when you buy organic quality. Go for products produced without genetic engineering and using natural additives.

Vegetable alternatives to tapioca

Like any food, tapioca is a matter of taste. If the plant starch is not suitable for your applications, you can also switch to other products. An example of this would be rice starch.

As a food manufacturer, you obviously want to know exactly what you are putting into your products. If you are looking for purely natural ingredients in BIO quality, you have come to the right place. We at naVitalo are specialists in this field and also attach great importance to environmentally friendly and sustainable work. With us you will not only find starches, but also, among other things, natural sweeteners, vegetable drink powders and proteins.

Feel free to contact us. We will advise you in detail and together we will find the high-quality ingredients that fit your products.

Rice syrup alternatives

Rice syrup: healthy alternative to other sweeteners?

More and more people have the ambition to limit their consumption of industrial sugar. The main reason for this is usually a consideration of their own health. Fortunately, there are now a variety of natural alternatives on the market, which bring with them very different benefits.

One of these is rice syrup, which has long been used in Asian cuisine and is becoming increasingly popular thanks to its light caramel flavor. In addition, rice syrup is considered a healthy sugar substitute – but is that really true? We will get to the bottom of this question in this blog post.

 

How is the natural syrup made?

To make a thick syrup from the cereal grains, the rice is first finely ground. The resulting flour is finally heated together with natural enzymes and water. During this process, the sugar is broken down. To free the liquid from all solid components, it is filtered. Now it only needs to be further thickened by heat until the desired consistency is achieved. This can be compared to that of honey.

 

In the production of rice syrup, therefore, you can do without artificial additives. You get a vegan final product that consists only of rice, natural enzymes and water.

 

Depending on the intensity of this process, rice syrup also comes in different shades. The darker, the more intense the caramel flavor. But even the darker versions are rather mild compared to household sugar.

Rice on a field.

Rice Plant on a field.

Health benefits of rice syrup

One thing in advance: rice syrup also consists of sugar, albeit natural. So, in general, one cannot speak of a healthy food here. As with all foods, it depends on a balanced diet and an adequate amount.

Basically, however, it can already be stated that rice syrup has some advantages in contrast to other sweeteners:

The calorie content

At just over 300 kcal per 100 g, the energy content is about 100 kcal below that of industrial sugar. From a health point of view, this is a clear point in favor of rice syrup. However, if you are very fond of sweet foods and therefore use a larger amount, this advantage will not apply.

Especially if you suffer from intolerances, rice syrup can be a healthy alternative for you:

 

Rice syrup for fructose intolerance

The colloquially called fructose is not only found in fruits. It is also contained in normal household sugar. Those who have an intolerance can have problems here. Rice syrup, on the other hand, is free of fructose and is therefore easy to digest.

Histamine & gluten intolerance

Rice is 100% gluten-free, so this also applies to rice syrup. And even if you have an intolerance to histamine, you can consume it without hesitation.

Rice syrup as a healthy alternative for allergy sufferers

Many hay fever sufferers are allergic to honey. This is because it contains a lot of pollen itself. Rice syrup does not cause any health complaints resulting from an allergy here and is considered to be well tolerated.

Rice Syrup in glases.

This is what Rice Syrup looks like.

Conclusion: Is rice syrup healthy?

As with any food, the motto with rice syrup is: quantity makes the difference. Whether it can be seen as a healthier alternative to sugar also depends in part on your perspective. You can especially benefit if you suffer from intolerances and allergies. Here, you have a clear advantage when using rice syrup.

If you like it less sweet and a light caramel flavor is enough for you, you also benefit from a lower calorie content.

But: watch out if you are diabetic. Rice syrup has a glycemic index of 98, so blood sugar rises sharply after consumption.

But beyond the advantages mentioned above, there are other health factors that are in your own hands. For example, if you pay attention to the quality when buying!

We recommend that you use syrup made from organic rice. This comes from organic and sustainable cultivation. In addition, you should make sure that natural and GMO-free enzymes are used in the production.

More natural sweetener alternatives at naVitalo

naVitalo stands for vegan and gluten-free foods in organic quality. With us, you will find other options besides rice syrup to banish table sugar from your products.

Perhaps oat or tapioca syrup are your alternative of choice instead. For some purposes, however, syrup simply doesn’t have the right consistency. In this case, rice syrup or tapioca powder might be optimal for you.

Are you a food manufacturer looking for plant-based ingredients in organic quality? Then please contact us and together we will find the products in our range that are suitable for your requirements.